defined/undefined


​Your relationship does not define you. Do not ever convince yourself that you have no identity without the other.
I don’t want you talking to him, I don’t care if he’s your childhood friend. He’s a guy. 

They cannot tell you to refrain from talking to people of a gender you are capable of being attracted to. If you don’t want me to fall for anyone else, prove your worth. Keep me, hold me close. Don’t create boundaries for me and enforce them. If you’re straight, you are allowed to be friends with guys/girls. If you’re bi, they can’t possibly expect you to be friendless.

Your relationship does not define you.

I will talk to whom I wish to. I will wear what I wish to. I am still the same person I was before you came along, and I will continue to do what makes me confident and what makes me happy. If you have a problem with an aspect of my personality that is not harmful to anyone, leave. Do not make me feel ashamed of my sexuality. It is a part of who I am. Do not make me feel ashamed of my mental health. It has made me who I am. Everything in my past has shaped me, whether good or bad. I will share it if I want to. If I don’t, wait. Do not force me to pour out to you the parts of my life that still sting, when you clearly don’t know how to handle me. 

Your relationship does not define you.

I am not less beautiful without you, less loving without you, less warm without you. Maybe less happier, but I will not be a mess when you disappear. I will not break down simply because I haven’t spoken to you in two days, or because you fail to reply in time. I am independent, I exist without you


I am independent, I exist without you

You don’t define me, this relationship does not define me. You are but an addition to my story, a note, quickly scribbled in a corner, slowly fading away

Your relationship does not define you. 

4 thoughts on “defined/undefined

Leave a Reply

