you

“So what do you look for in a partner?”

I think of the time you asked me the same question

I look for you. In everyone I feel myself falling for. I search for your smile, for traces of your laughter. I search for the sound of your voice, and the feel of your skin against mine. 
I look for your shirts in closets, your songs on their playlists. I’m constantly on the watch for something they’ll do that’ll remind me of you. 

I look for you.

And when I can’t find you, I let myself fall, knowing my heart won’t be broken by the same person once more.​

Leave a Reply

